10th Senate: New Leaders Emerge

* Akpabio


After a close-door meeting presided by Senate President Godswill Akpabío, the Senate President, has announced the principal officers of the 10th Senate, which he says emerged by consensus.

The new officers are Senator Opeyemi Bamidele from Ekiti State as Senate Leader, Senator Dave Umahi from Ebonyi State as Deputy Senate Leader, Senator Ali Ndume from Borno State as Chief Whip, and Senator Lola Ashiru from Kwara State as Deputy Chief Whip.

Akpabio also announced the Minority Leader of the Senate.

“The Minority Caucus of the Senate is made up of about seven political parties and have come up with their leadership so I will proceed to announce the names…”

“Senator Simon Mwadkwon, Minority Leader; Oyewumi Olalere, Deputy Minority Leader; Darlington Nwokocha, Minority Whip; and Rufai Anga, Deputy Minority Whip,” Akpabio said.

The current Senate was inaugurated on, June 13,


Share Article

Go toTop