Matawalle, Makinde, Wike shine as Dele Momodu Emerges The Face Of Nigerian Media

It was a night for honours well deserved at the 17th edition of the Nigeria Media Nite Out Awards (NMNA), which took place at the Lagos Airport Hotel, Lagos, yesterday.

The Minister of State for Defence, Alhaji Bello Matawale, Governor Seyi Makinde and Minister For Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike bagged different awards.

Dele Momodu

Bashorun Dr Dele Momodu. Publisher of Ovation International magazine also emerged ‘The Face of the Nigerian Media’ at the Nigeria Media NiteOut Awards (NMNA) in Lagos.

It is the first time in Nigeria that a media personality has been so bestowed with such a honour and an award.

In settling for the choice of Momodu, the media award committee of Nigeria Media NiteOut Award noted that:

“Chief Dele Momodu, as he is also known, has been a consistent Face in the challenge, struggle and success of the Nigerian journalists and media practitioners over the years!”

“He has chosen to remain a flamboyant publisher, despite the challenging purse of a pen-,pusher in Nigeria. And successfully flaunts a success that ought to be that of a noble profession, but pressed down by our society! For giving the profession a good name, inspiring the new breed of media practitioners in Nigeria and consistently remaining a prolific writer over the years, Chief Dele Momodu is well deserving to be the true Face Of The Nigerian Media,” declared Sola Olugbemiro, the Convener of the Nigeria Media NiteOut Awards event yesterday.

The colourful event also saw Alhaji Ladan Salihu, a broadcasting Industry Icon, Chairman Albarka Radio, former DG, Federal Radio (Radio Nigeria) & Former Commissioner for Information & SSG, Bauchi State, bag a pacesetter award in broadcasting in Bauchi State and a second award for his developmental contribution to growth of FRCN. He was represented by High Chief Adeyinka Amosu, former Zonal Director, Lagos FRCN.

Lagos Speaker Mr. Mudashiru Obasa bagged the Most Performing Speaker Of The Year Award while Alhaji Salihu Abdulhamid Dembos, Director General NTA, got Best Government Agency For Communication Award.

The Lagos State Waste Management Authority (LAWMA) got an award for sanitising the environment, while Ibom Air was honoured with a Most Friendly And Best Airline Of The Year Award.

The Keynote address of the event was delivered by Otunba Bimbo Ashiru, Chairman of Odu’a Group.

* Convener, Sola Olugbemiro

The emotional evening saw Punch newspaper emerge Newspaper Of The Year, while Arise Television won the Television Station Of The Year Award.

Share Article

Go toTop